Time to face the garden

No more putting it off. I’ve stared out of the window several times recently, thinking “Hmm, I should really get out there and do some tidying.” Then, I usually decide I’ve got something more important and less cold to do, like making a cup of tea.

The weather has been beautiful this week, so I dug out my gardening gloves, dragged the brown wheelie bin round the back and got stuck in. Unbelievably, it was actually warm enough yesterday to sit out and have our lunch when we’d finished.

We have to make the most of our pocket-sized North Manchester garden. At the moment, it mostly consists of brown bits, but that just makes the colourful bits shine all the brighter – like these chives. I love this beautiful blossom tree, which has grown right over our fence from our neighbours’ garden. I am not about to prune it back, it’s gorgeous and always seems to be in bloom when nothing else is.

We grew some vegetables in pots last year and we’re itching to give it a go again, so today we bought some seeds. CJ has decided she wants to grow peas. I reminded her that she doesn’t like peas. She said she does like peas. I bought the peas. If a child suddenly decides they like something green, then needs must. She’ll always try something we’ve grown ourselves. And if they don’t grow due to my lack of green fingers, I’ll be serving up some Birds Eye and swearing blind they are home grown specimens. Don’t judge me.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Time to face the garden

  1. Mama Syder says:

    I had been putting the lottie off for the same reasons as you…Brrrr its been too cold but yesterday dragged myself over there and was glad I did. I enjoyed the sun. Its great when the kids show an interest in growing isn’t it. Lol, last year my daughter planted strawberry seeds and they didn’t take so I rushed out and bought some ready grown ones and pretended they were hers, she was thrilled and it has kept her interested in growing x

    • Parklover says:

      I think I enjoyed the growing even more than my daughter did, it’s addictive isn’t it? She discovered a love of chives and eats them whenever she’s in the garden. She also tried rocket and courgette a couple of times last year as they’d come from the garden, even thought she didn’t really like them. She WANTED to like them because she’d grown them. Magic!

  2. Mañana Mama says:

    Gardening is so much fun for kids…not surprising since they get the grown-ups to do all the unpleasant bits, like tidying up the garden! We had a great time with runner beans and mange tout last year – both grow quickly, which keeps the kids interested.

    Happy gardening – just discovered your lovely blog via Kerry On Living by the way.
    ~M

    • Parklover says:

      Mm, like the idea of growing mange tout *note to self, you have a TINY GARDEN!*
      Following you back on twitter and will be over to check out your blog too.

  3. Carrie says:

    Oh! I know exactly how you feel. I put so much work into my yard last year. I look out my window and see things I planted still doing well. Yay! It has been a very cold winter. More snow than usual. I also see weeds. I feel a big urge to go get ’em! Then, I think about the temp outside. The weeds win for a little while longer.

    • Parklover says:

      Yes, the snow has killed a lovely phormium that I planted a few years ago so I had fun trying to dig that up. It was quite a big beast and I only have a few little tools!

  4. Wheelie Bins says:

    it is great growing, i use to work at a green house and after i left i converted some of the garden in to a veg patch.

Leave a Reply

