1 in 4

A recent survey stated that 1 in 4 children never play outdoors. They are missing out on so much. Give my daughter a tree and a stick with which to poke it, and she’s happy!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 1 in 4

  1. TheMummyLife says:

    i think alot of parents dont take their children out to the woods anymore and thats sad. Im planning loads of trips with my now *almost* 1 year old 🙂 cant wait to make dens and imagination play in the woods and seaside.
    great post 🙂

  2. Wow, if that’s accurate then that’s awful. Forests and parks are a great way for kids to explore their imagination. I am lucky to live in a city which includes many parks, one even being a disused airfield and also a number of forests and lakes. My son will definitely get many a chance to play in them!

    • Parklover says:

      Hi, I’ve been to Berlin a few times, the playgrounds, parks and general outdoor space are fantastic. It’s one of my favourite places in the world.
      If these figures are true, it’s incredibly sad isn’t it? Current government proposals to sell off large areas of publicly owned forests are truly shocking, and deeply unpopular, and will surely only make this situation worse!

  3. Abby says:

    That’s incredibly sad. We play outside almost every single day. Honestly . . . I’m not sure what else we’d do all day long!

    • Parklover says:

      Likewise! Mooching around outdoors keeps us occupied, and I’ve discovered so many places through looking for somewhere new to take my daughter. So pleased to have found your blog, and thanks for dropping by at mine!

  4. mutteringsofafool says:

    Being 1 of 5 children (4 boys) we were always going for walks and climbing trees. In fact often my parents would have a 4 mile walk planned and we’d end up playing in a tree for 2 hours instead. Pretty simply solution to the obesity problem also 🙂

    • Parklover says:

      Absolutely. I think I spent a large part of my childhood up trees. My parents have just had their Bramley apple tree chopped down as it was old and diseased – I had a little lup in throat, as I used to have a method of climbing it that took about 20 seconds, then I’d sit at the very top for ages, being queen of the castle!

  5. Mary says:

    My youngest used to hide really good sticks at the park so he could find them again.

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention 1 in 4 | Parklover -- Topsy.com

  7. ntsteve says:

    Thanks for the link!

    There seems to be a lot of this depressing research around at the moment. We’ve started a campaign at http://www.outdoornation.org.uk to try and bring the various outdoors organisations together and decide what we need to do to improve the UK’s connection with the outdoors and get people outside. If you’d like to get involved in any way then we’d love to hear from you.

  8. Herding Cats says:

    Some of my best childhood memories are of simply playing in the local woods or fields. Sadly I cannot allow my children to do that, but I try to take them out for nature alwaks as much as possible.

    • Parklover says:

      Hi thanks for your comment. I’m lucky that I live opposite some woods, so my daughter will probably okay to go there with her friends when she’s older. How old she’ll be before I’ll feel comfortable with that, I’m not sure!

  9. Claire King says:

    That’s very sad and can’t be good for their health or happiness at all. Even when you have no outside space of your own, a trip to somewhere you can run around does everyone good.

    • Parklover says:

      I completely agree Claire. We only have a tiny back garden, but I’m very lucky that we are walking distance from woods and parks. Whilst kids can run around anywhere, I also think it’s hugely important for them to be somewhere grassy and muddy! It’s good for everyone’s soul isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

