A Winter’s Vale (Reddish Vale, Stockport)

I spent my morning rooted to a windy spot on the riverbank at Reddish Vale, marshalling a trail running race.It’s one of those hidden bits of Manchester countryside; hills and dales, woods and rapid river, with just the roar of the M60 to remind you where you actually are.

I took a flask of tea with me, but my brews kept going cold as I got sidetracked taking photos of the stark but fabulous views. The icy January light made for a sombre pallette of blues and greys, but every now and again the sun popped out from behind the clouds turning the grass luminous green. I’m not sure I was quite quick enough to capture the full effect, but I had very cold hands to please cut me some slack.

This entry was posted in Manchester Parks, Stockport Parks, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

