Aquatic Fanatic

I have a strange love/hate relationship with open water. As soon as the weather gets remotely temperate, I yearn to be in water, swimming in the sea or just dangling my feet in a cooling stream. I’ll search high and low for a lido or even a paddling pool. Yet, at the same time, water terrifies me. I find deep water sinister and eerie. Even the darkness of the deep end of a proper swimming pool scares me; I can remember lieing, terrified in my bed the night before every swimming lesson at primary school, as I knew I would have to do a surface dive in the 12 feet deep section of the pool the next day. The thought of deep water is making me physically shudder even as I type this.
It’s ridiculous really. I’m a strong swimmer who can keep going for ages, but I swim around the edge of the shore in water just deep enough for me not to knock my knees on the seabed.
2010 was the year that I finally realised how near to the sea I actually live. Despite living in Manchester for 9 years, I still have the mentality of a midlander, used to having to drive 3 hours to get to the coast. I will often say that I wish I lived nearer to the sea. Well, it turns out that I don’t live that far away. 50 minutes will get me to St Annes. Lovely, although you often can’t actually see the sea there. An hour, though, will get me to Formby, a beautiful stretch of unspoilt coast with sand dunes and a pine forest and red squirrel reserve behind it. Not bad eh?
And if I want to get somewhere really special, I’ve discovered the beaches of the Llyn Peninsula this year, around 2 1/2 hours from Manchester. The crashing waves on some of the stunning beaches make them beloved of surfers, but are exactly the kind of thing that I find unsettling. However, the more sheltered beaches are ideal for me and mine. Calm, gently shelving waters and much less chance of the wind blowing sand in your butties. Definitely love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Aquatic Fanatic

  1. Ooh! I love the wee crossed feet of your little one! Adorable! 😉

    Karin

  2. Make do mum says:

    I have a love/hate thing with water too & I really miss living by the sea (the stinky Thames doesn’t count)! Both those beaches look lovely and peaceful.

  3. Jude says:

    I’m the same when it comes to deep water – petrified of it. I would never, ever jump into it, and feel nervous if I swim out of my depth. Not sure why I feel like that, but I always have.

    • Parklover says:

      I’ve no idea why I’m like that either. And it’s particularly weird as I love swimming and feel compelled to get into the water, although as you say, I’d never jump in and I don’t like to be out of my depth. It’s the darkness I think, I swam out of my depth in Greece because the beach shelved off so steeply, but it was clear, you could see beautiful fish and I was fine. Still parallel with the shore though, so I could make a quick exit!

  4. I love the sea and find swimming in it exhilarating and scary. Great photo’s and fabulous place – love the Llyn.
    happy christmas.

    • Parklover says:

      Happy Christmas to you too. The Llyn is just gorgeous. I spent lots of time in North Wales in my youth, but never got further than Criccieth. We spent many happy times at Borth y Gest, which is beautiful. Llanbedrog and Morfa Nefyn are my discoveries this year, I love both.

  5. jenmum says:

    That just looks totally idyllic, what lovely photos.

  6. Mirka Moore says:

    Great pictures, the last one is just gorgeous 😉 @Kahanka

Leave a Reply

