Life’s a Beach

The temperature’s dropped to a level where I can’t feel my toes, the wind is whistling in an apocalyptic fashion. It seems a good time to remind ourselves that beaches are not just for sunny summer days. Otherwise, let’s face it, we wouldn’t be able to visit them very often in Britain.

I was really inspired by a lovely post on Artful Adventures profiling Beach Art as seen on the Land Art for Kids website. I went to  the Lleyn Peninsula in North Wales for a week back in late September, and whilst the weather was sunny some of the time, it was pretty cold and windy, as you can probably tell by the various hoodies

we’re sporting in the photos. However, at home we are about an hour from the sea, so we were determined to make the most of the beautiful beaches on our doorstep, whatever the weather.

We found Beach Art lots of fun, although I think CJ (3)enjoyed the collecting as much as the making. Llanbedrog beach is an absolute treaure trove of shells, each wave washing more twinkling beauties onto the shore. CJ even found a hermit crab. She was shocked to find the shell she’d picked up had claws – until I told her it was like the crab in Sharing a Shell, then she thought it was brilliant!

We made the stone spiral at Porth Oer, also known as “Whistling Sands”. This place is really popular in summer but we had it almost to ourselves. The wind made the sea a bit wild for our tastes, but there were some hardy souls out bodyboarding.

Both Llanbedrog and Porth Oer have fantastic rockpools, which is an obvious beach activity when the weather is more miserable than medittereanean. Another classic crap weather beach favourite is pebble skimming. Here’s me in action at Abersoch. Don’t take any tips from me though; I am rubbish, much to Mr Parklover’s amusement.

Beaches are surely one of the most picturesque of locations and a great place for budding photographers to practice their skills. I found photographing the beach huts at Abersoch an ideal way to practice trying to split my picture into thirds.

Finally, a bit of rain can make the sand a great texture for large scale drawings. We found ourselves a stick and had fun playing noughts and crosses, before CJ decided to go all artistic. Below is her lovely peacock on the beach at Borth Y Gest, shortly before it will have been washed away by the tide.

What are your favourite activities for those bracing days at the seaside?

Linked with Play Academy

This entry was posted in Beaches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Life’s a Beach

  1. Beautiful part of the world. Lovely photos

  2. Jude says:

    Wow, I’m impressed – what hardy souls you are. Some useful tips for beaches there too for future reference. I think there are quite a few beaches within an hour’s drive of Manchester, but I’m never sure which are the best to go to.

    PS my stone skimming skills are pretty rusty now too – I used to be quite good at it as a child, having been taught by my brother, but when I tried last summer for the first time in years, I failed woefully – very embarrassing!

    • Parklover says:

      Formby is my favourite, it’s really unspoilt. St Annes is also nice, but more in an old fashioned seaside resort kind of way – and you only occasionally see the sea there! There’s a lovely paddling pool in summer though.

  3. maryanne says:

    Beautiful beach art! We just spent a week on the (currently quite cold) Massachusetts Cape, and favorite activities were walking along the beach, collecting shells, and drawing in the sand with sticks!

  4. Isn’t it fun to go to the beach in what most consider “off” season?! We had the beach pretty much to ourselves to run and play for the day. I love your beach art! I will have to remember this for our next beach day.

  5. I love beaches ‘off season’ and my two mermaids like nothing better than hunting for shells. Thanks for joining in with our Play Academy – it’s especially good to have some more outdoor play ideas to encourage us outside with the children over the colder months.

Leave a Reply

