Ich bin ein Berliner

I’ve just been on a short-but-sweet trip to Berlin, one of my favourite cities. I travelled with a friend and enjoyed a couple of days of museums, mooching, beer and cheese in no paricular order. However, I couldn’t help but notice all the lovely parks and playgrounds shoehorned into even the tiniest, most unlikely of settings. And I couldn’t help but take some photos…

The one above is in Hackesher Hof, in a small courtyard between shops, overlooked by apartments.

The playground on the left is on a kind of grass verge-cum-island between two roads in Friedrichshain.

Still in Friedrichshain, this playground is in the very lovely Boxhagener Platz which hosts a fabulous market on saturday mornings. And, it has to be said, some fabulous bars. I was there without my daughter remember?

I loved this little playground in Kreuzberg. It’s situated in al ittle opening that narrows into a passageway between two buildings. The play equipment and the beautiful trees contrasted with the grey buildings plastered with graffitti just seems very Berlin.

I’d love to go back to Berlin with my daughter, and it seems like a great place to take small people. I remember reading this article in The Guardian a while back which lists some lovely sounding “Kindercafes” and other places to tale kids. I’d also recommend the newish DDR Museum which tries to give a fair impression of life in the former East Germany – very hands on and much more fun than in might sound!

A big shout out must go to Helen at Love Levenshulme and Sam at mightaswell, for taking the time to give me loads of brilliant suggestions of where to go in Berlin.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ich bin ein Berliner

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Ich bin ein Berliner | Parklover -- Topsy.com

  2. We took our son to Berlin in October last year – fabulous city! I wish I’d known you were going. My posts are still on the blog under the Berlin tag (surprise surprise). So glad you enjoyed the city.

    • Parklover says:

      Hi Trish – I’ll make sure I check your posts out if (when!) I go again. It’s the third time I’ve been (although the first visit was only for a few hours), I love it there.

Leave a Reply

