Heaton Park…again

I’ve said it before, but you can’t beat Heaton Park for a day out in Manchester. I went there this afternoon with CJ with no intention of blogging, but the autumn light was so beautiful, I just couldn’t resist getting a few snaps with my mobile.

I thought I’d highlight a few of the less obvious attractions of Heaton Park. I love this path under a canopy of trees, which takes you from near the lake to the hall.

I also love these bells on the north playground. They’re like playthings masquerading as public artworks. They seem to have been given a drop of oil since I last rang them too, you used to need big muscles to push these round. Now they spin without too much effort.

From the playground, you can’t help but notice the BT tower looming above you. You can also see it for miles around here.

I like that when I spot the tower from the M60, it brings to mind happy thoughts of wandering around the paths and fields of this beautiful place.

It’s nice to go out and about discovering new parks, playgrounds, trails, woods, beaches and anywhere else we can enjoy the outdoors. But there’s a reason why old favourites are old favourites, and it’s nice to remind yourself of it every now and then.

This entry was posted in Heaton Park, Manchester Parks, Prestwich Parks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heaton Park…again

  1. Martin Bryan says:

    I agree with you about the tree canopy, I have always loved that and was so glad they left it when the mass pruning was carried out.

    What do you think of the tramway extension?

Leave a Reply

