Llanbedrog

I’ve just got back from a fantastic weekend in North Wales. It’s a place we often went on holiday when I was growing up, swimming in the sea at Harlech or Fairbourne, climbing the rocks at Borth-y-Gest and exploring the rockpools at Llandanog.

This time I wanted to visit somewhere new. My parents came with us and we came back with lots of new family memories of North Wales. These photos were taken at beautiful Llanbedrog. I couldn’t help but take photo after photo, the place is just so picturesque, with its colourful beach huts, tree covered cliffs and bobbing boats. Even the approach to this beach is breathtaking; trees form a tunnel over a narrow lane, and a perfectly clear stream runs at the side of it down onto the beach, ready to be diverted by children armed with spades. I’m rather pleased with my many photos of this outing, although I’m fairly certain it’s impossible to take any bad pictures of Llanbedrog.

The day after this, we went to Morfa Nefyn which is also completely stunning. I was too busy swimming in the sea to take any scenic photos though, sorry. As I drove home the following day, glimpsing the mist covered grey hills through my windscreen wipers, my idyllic weekend of blue skies and sun dappled sea felt like something I’d dreamt up. Luckily I have these photos to remind me it really did happen.

 

 

This entry was posted in Beaches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Llanbedrog

  1. maryfclark says:

    Beautiful post– I can almost smell the sea and marsh. I love seeing grey hills too.

    • Parklover says:

      Thanks for your lovely comment. I drove home through Blaenau Ffestiniog, the hills there are grey (slate heaps) whatever the weather, and I always find them rather spooky. Especially grey on this day.

  2. Beautiful! We’re off to Wales tomorrow so I hope you left some of that sunshine behind!

  3. jfb57 says:

    Such peacful pictures! Well done!

  4. Alethea says:

    Gorgeous pictures! I love the picture with the little beach houses reflected in the water!

  5. Love the photo of the coloured beach huts all lined up with their reflection in the shallow water! Sounds like you had a lovely time πŸ™‚

  6. Lovely πŸ™‚ I love the colours of the beach huts.

  7. I can’t resist beach pictures (naturally). I love the beach huts πŸ™‚

  8. Ahhhh look at the coloured beach huts – brilliant!!

  9. Looks absolutely gorgeous! Note made to visit there myself!

  10. Michelle says:

    Beautiful photos! Love them both but the first one with the color reflection of the cabins in the water is so cool:-)

  11. bubbleboo says:

    Lovely pictures – the reflections in the first one are wonderful

  12. Pingback: Bags of Love photo canvas review |

  13. Graham A says:

    I went to Llanbedrog on holiday for many years when growing up, camping up at Bolmynedd. I can assure you nothing much has changed in nearly 50 years and it is clearly a ‘secret’ gem now as it was then. Next time you go try driving around the headland and parking up at the Warren – single track road all the way. Also try a walk ‘over the top’ of the headland for unbeatable views and exercise.

Leave a Reply

