A River Runs Through It (The Carrs, Wilmslow)

MAP

WEBPAGE

I hadn’t planned on going to Wilmslow yesterday. We were supposed to be getting the train to Buxton for a day out, but, thanks to a rare tantrum from CJ, during which I narrowly avoided laughing at loud as she stopped screaming momentarily to tell me “it’s the landing, not the hall” that she’d dumped my boots on, we arrived at Piccadilly station 1 minute after the train left. The next train didn’t leave for an hour, rendering the visit pointless, so I made a quick decision to jump on a train to Wilmslow instead. Thanks to a super-slow ticket machine, we nearly missed that train as well, and only got on with 2 minutes to spare.

I vaguely remembered someone telling me that there was a nice park by the river in Wilmslow. Finding it was not the easiest job in the world, but we did find the library easily, so I headed there and picked up a cycling map of Wilmslow with green spaces clearly marked. 10 minutes later, we were in The Carrs finding ourselves a nice picnic spot by the river and watching some ducklings swim past with their mum.

The playground is right next to the entrance to this park, but if you venture past it, you can go for a very pleasant walk – great for strolling, dog walking and kids on scooters or bikes as well as pram pushing.

The playground is very well equipped and pleasant. The various equipment is spaced out over a large, grassy area and there’s plenty for all ages – 3 year old CJ managed to go on everything in the playground several times, we found that even the activities aimed at older children could be safely used with some help and effort from Mummy. It was a bit warm running up and down, pushing CJ along on the zipwire, but she was enjoying herself and older children would have been at school, so we didn’t think we were robbing anyone of their fun. Just outside the playarea, there’s also a decent sized skate-ramp.

We stayed at the park for well over 2 hours, which included an ice-cream break. An ice-cream van pulled up on the carpark next to the playground, and did a roaring trade  on a sunny day. There’s not much shade on the playground itself, so we found a tree to sit under while we had our treat.

 

This entry was posted in Cheshire Parks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A River Runs Through It (The Carrs, Wilmslow)

  1. nixdminx says:

    Hello parklover, I love these photos, they’re really fun and sunny and of course parky!

  2. Red Ted Art says:

    I love your photos. makes me what to run outside and enjoy the park!! 😉

    And the pics of you and little one, look like you are having fun!!

  3. Love that second photo 😀

    Looking at your blogroll… are you local to me (spotted the Preston Blog – didn’t know that existed so have signed up to it now)?

    • parklover says:

      I’m in North Manchester, so not far from you I think. Husband’s family are from Leyland and we used to live in Preston.

  4. Mirka Moore says:

    You remind me so much of one of my best friends from Sydney. lovely pictures 😉

  5. Michelle says:

    I love your post! It portraits you:-)

  6. Cheshire Mum says:

    That’s my stomping ground! We are regular’s there – at least once a week! We love Stamford Park in Altrincham for “scooting” and Bruntwood Park in Cheadle Hulme was today’s outing – both great! Cx

    • parklover says:

      Ah, I thought so! Bruntwood Park is fab, I posted about it at the end of last summer. I’ve not been to Stamford Park, but was recently talking to a lovely artist who is doing a mosaic there at the moment, with some local children I think, so I will have to go and have a look.

  7. Is that the end of a banana or have you got a very odd-coloured tongue? 😉
    Nice to see you!

  8. Fabulous photos. And that’s a great park. I’ve been to Wilmslow. Amy’s nan lives in Northwich.

    • parklover says:

      Northwich was my other option of train to jump onto when we missed the Buxton one! Will have to go there anywhere soon, me and Cj are into train adventures at the moment.

  9. Hayley says:

    Oooo sunshine! Lovely to see you to of course :p

Leave a Reply

