London Marathon

Here’s a photo of me looking rather grim at the end of a gruelling 10 mile trail race.

Multiply that grim look several times and you may have a sense of how I will look at the end of my 26.2 miles this sunday. Hopefully though, like I just about am in this photo, I will be smiling. I’ll be smiling because I’ll have achieved something I’ve never done before, but have wanted to do for a long time.

I may or may not have achieved my target of running the marathon in 4 hours, although hopefully I will get close. I will hopefully achieve my second target of running all the way. I really hope I achieve my third target of enjoying the whole experience. I’m so excited about it, I’m going to pack my bag today – that’s also because I’m tormented by dreams of forgetting my registration form and not being allowed to run!

I also have an additional target of rasing some money for a fantastic cause. I’m fundraising for the charity CHILDREN WITH LEUKAEMIA. They are involved in research and supporting families affected by Britain’s most common childhood cancer. I don’t have a fundraising target, I would just like to use my fantastic experience of running a marathon to help a great charity. If anyone would like to sponsor me, you can click here for my fundraising page. Huge thanks to those who already have done.

And if you’re watching the marathon on sunday, look out for me. I’ll be the one with the big smile.

Photo by Dave Chesney

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to London Marathon

  1. You are going to have a fantastic time, I promise!!!! I did it last year and loved it even though at times I never thought I’d finish. So may top tips. Drink at every station, don’t be afraid to accept food from the crowd or at the special food stations, I go9t really really hyungry. Avoid teh sandwich lady and don’t forget to go to the loo before the race begins. oh yes and enjoy! I wrote a poem after teh Marathon last year here’s a link it will give you an idea what to expect though kto be hnest it’s your race and it will be bey9ond expectation! Good Luck!!!! http://tattieweasle.blogspot.com/2009/05/memoirs-of-marathon-how-could-i-have.html

    • parklover says:

      Thankyou for your encouragement and I LOVE your poem! I am ridiculously excited, I need to make sure I don’t use up all my energy in adrenalin!

  2. Hayley says:

    Do you know your number hun? I’ll be going up on Sunday to take some piccies! Drop me a message over at mine to make sure I see it or fb/tweet me! Will look out for you! 😀

  3. reggie pepper says:

    Good luck. I hope the weather stays fine and that you enjoy the day. Go Get Em.

  4. I hope you are having a well earned rest and that now it is all over you are enjoying the post marathon glow. Take it easy now! Though of course loinging to hear how you did….

Leave a Reply

