26.2

26.2 is the number of miles I will have to run to complete the London Marathon – my first ever marathon – on April 25th.

2 is the number of years it took me to get remotely fit after giving birth to my daughter. Before I had her I was in the GB racewalk squad and competed at 20km, until I injured my pelvis.

100 is probably the number of times I’ve said “I’d love to do that” whilst watching the London Marathon over the years.

4 is the maximum number of hours I’m hoping the marathon will take me to run.

9 is the maximum number of minutes each of those 26 miles will need to take me, if I am to acheive my goal of sub 4 hours.

7 is the number of weeks to go until race day. I’m really excited!

3 is the number of blistered toes I have. I have spared you a photo of them.

5 is the number of green spaces I have discovered on my doorstep since I started looking for lengthy off road training routes. I thought I was an expert on local open spaces and I hadn’t even discovered that the stunner below (Hurst Wood)  was a 10 minute run from my front door! These off road routes are the reason for my rather muddy foot in the photo above – running on grass and trails can help to avoid injuries.

So many numbers; times, distances, weekly mileage, race performances, schedules.

But in the end, all that’s important is getting round 26.2 miles in one piece.

This post is part of The Gallery over at Sticky Fingers. This week’s prompt was  numbers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 26.2

  1. MrsW says:

    Wow – good luck. Can’t say I’ve ever watched a marathon and longed to run one 🙂 I do, however, long to run between two lamposts…. it’s a start…

  2. Oh wow. Thems some impressive numbers.
    Wishing the very very best of luck x

  3. Nova says:

    What a great list of numbers….good luck. I have to say I have never ever said when watching the marathon that “I’d love to do that” but I admire everyone that does.

    • parklover says:

      Thanks for all the good luck wishes guys.
      MrsW and Nova – I’m not sure thinking “I’d love to do that” is a typical response to watching people run a marathon, but then I’ve always been a bit weird! Perhaps it’s the genes, my dad has competed in several 24 hour/100 mile races. 26.2 is nothing to him!

  4. Your lovely mucky foot – superb!

  5. marisworld says:

    Good luck! I really hope you do it in your 4 hours. I’ll be watching at home saying – wouldn’t it be lovely to do something like that! Just praying it’s good weather for you 🙂
    Love the photo (s)

  6. geekymumy says:

    Very best of luck. I too have said at least 100 times that I want to run a marathon, but haven’t actually done it yet.

  7. kim mcgowan says:

    Good Luck Mrs Parklover! My friend Lesley who I work with is running the London Marathon too. I expect you’ll see her, she has brown hair…
    kim

  8. Livi says:

    wow! Good luck! Stunning scenery too and what a wonderful reason to be out and about finding new hidden gems.

  9. Ju says:

    Wow, I do take my hat off to people that have the will power to run a marathon. You seem to have the best training grounds.
    Good luck, and enjoy it too.

  10. Hayley says:

    Hunni your amazing to run a marathon, I am praying that one day I will be able to unfortunately I have a rather serious knee injury that may put that plan into the bin!

    I only live 40 minutes from London and having followed tons of blogging marathon trainers this year I may come in and watch! 😀

  11. Richard says:

    Best of luck with the training, and of course the race itself.

    Another number for you – 365 yards. The extra bit at the end of the 26 miles was first established at the 1908 Olympics in London, so that the finish line in the stadium could be directly in front of the Royal Box. Sadly it was a bit too far for this chap – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dorando_Pietri – who got to the stadium first but collapsed and had to be helped up by officials, and got disqualified. The dramatic finish ensured that the marathon became the most popular event at future Olympics, though, which is probably why we still run it today.

    (BTW – the 26 miles relates to the distance between Marathon and Athens in Greece. Legend had it that this geezer – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pheidippides – ran the whole way to give news of the Greek victory over the Persians at the Battle of Marathon, before keeling over and dying. Quitter.)

  12. Annie says:

    Good luck. My hubby is training to do the Chester marathon in May, and he’s looking to do a sub 4 hour run too. I’ll have to check your blog when you’ve done it to see how you got on. Best of luck to you

Leave a Reply

